Opera Theatre of Saint Louis Announces Young Artists for the 2019 Festival Season

31 young artists selected from a pool of 1,062 applicants, marking the 2019 class as one of the most selective to date 

From over 1000 applications and nearly 400 auditions, Opera Theatre of Saint Louis has selected 31 singers for its 2019 class of young artists. With an acceptance rate of 3%, the program remains one of the most competitive in the US. Since the program’s foundation in 1976, OTSL’s young artist program continues to launch careers of celebrated singers in the opera world.

Lauded by The Chicago Tribune as “one of the best springboards in the nation for young Americans on the cusp of big careers,” Opera Theatre’s young artist program fosters the careers of up-and-coming singers. Gerdine Young Artists (GYAs) appear in supporting roles, understudy leading roles, and sing the choruses of each season's productions. An advanced designation of Richard Gaddes Festival Artists (GFAs) is given to Gerdine alumni to perform select featured roles that represent the next step toward their solo careers. In addition, all young artists participate in one-on-one coachings and masterclasses with prestigious artists and musicians such as Stephanie Blythe, Patricia Racette, and Neil Shicoff. OTSL young artists have gone on to enjoy international careers, performing at such prestigious venues at the English National Opera, the Lyric Opera of Chicago, the Metropolitan Opera, Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, the San Francisco Opera, and The Santa Fe Opera among others.

Opera Theatre of Saint Louis’s 2019 young artists are:

ºReturning GYA             ♦ GFA

Additional young artists may yet be added to the Gerdine Young Artist program prior to the 2019 season

Opera Theatre’s young artist programs have a long tradition of discovering and promoting the careers of renowned artists, including Christine Brewer, Jamie Barton, Lawrence Brownlee, Jennifer Johnson Cano, Christine Goerke, Evan Leroy Johnson, Erin Morley, Paula Murrihy, Matthew Polenzani, Morris Robinson, Michael Spyres, Russell Thomas, and Corinne Winters. The Gerdine Young Artist Program is supported in part by the Charles MacKay Career Development Fund. The Richard Gaddes Festival Artist Program and the Gaddes Career Grants are supported by the Richard Gaddes Fund for Young Singers and funds established in memory of OTSL founding board members Elihu Hyndman and Barbara & Stanley Richman.